Hotdog Curry!

Hotdog Curry

I’ll be first to admit that this is a bit of a weird one!

So my hubs’ dad is from India. I’ve been assured that this is something that pops-in-law has been cooking forever, and quite possibly, hubs’ grandma before that. I’m not really sure on how this exact recipe came about. It does share a few commonalities with currywurst, but it’s not quite the same.

Hubs used to cook this for me. He’d used tinned hotdogs gag and I’d not eat it. I took over making it years ago, and have changed it to suit my tastes – notably switching from fresh tomatoes to tinned because I prefer a bit of a sauce.

As it’s a bit of an odd, unique recipe, I’ll include a recipe for this one, found below.

But first let me assure that this is a steaming bowl of hot, tasty goodness. The broccoli makes me feel a lot less guilty about my hard-to-break chip habit. Depending on the number of chillies you add, it can be just warming, or blow-your-socks-off-hot. In short, this is a friendly, cheap bowl of nourishing, happy hotdogs!

Also, totes keto-friendly, if you’re that way inclined, which I am trying to be, starting today. Yes. Yes. If you’re not on keto, lessen the butter, and add some hot toasted pita bread on the side.

Hotdog Curry

  • Butter
  • Garlic oil, or garlic and oil!
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 1 broccoli, cut into florets
  • 4-5 frankfurter hotdogs (as I can’t eat this because they have dairy in them I switched to one of those funky, curly Mattessons sausages… just as good.), cut into slices
  • 1 red chilli, or 2, or 3… ya know… chopped
  • 1 x 400g tin of chopped tomatoes, 4-5 tomatoes, chopped
  • More butter
  • 1/2tsp red chilli flakes
  • Biiiig pinch of salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2tsp dried oregano
  • Bit more butter
  • Handful of fresh coriander, roughly chopped

Heat the butter and oil (and garlic, if using) in a big pot. Add the onions and broccoli and sweat until softened, 5-10 minutes.

Add the tomatoes, seasoning, and oregano. Fill the tomato tin halfway with water and add to the pot. Add a little more butter. Simmer for 5 more minutes.

Add the chilli and hotdogs, and stir together. Cook for 5 minutes. Add the coriander, and a bit more salt. Stir and cook for 1 more minute.

Finish with a little more butter!

Leave a Reply

