Post-Bonfire Night Feast: Sausages, Mash & Onion Gravy

Sausges, Mash & Onion Gravy

Bonfire Night, and I wanted to surprise hubs with a tasty Saturday night dinner that I wouldn’t ordinarily suggest.

I don’t usually eat pork, unless it’s very overcooked, as it has a tendency to make me feel shitty. Ditto chicken. And lamb. And cabbage. Whatever.

But I was being brave this weekend, with sausages that were cooked for as long as the packet told me too! Which is very hard for me to do! Plus buttery mash, and onion gravy.

Here’s the recipe for onion gravy:

  • 2.5 onions, sliced and fried, slowly, in butter and oil for 10-15 minutes.
  • Bisto beef gravy.

And mix.

Yeah, whatever, it was damn tasty. Haven’t had this in years. I also made some baked beans from scratch, not pictured. I don’t really like baked beans all that much, that was just another little treat for hubs.

On the side, I indulged for the first time in maybe 2 years – I had beer. This is a big deal. So, I don’t drink, like, at all, ever. Not even in food. But I thought, this could be kinda cool – what does booze even feel like for me now? So I had some beer, mixed with lemonade ’cause I’m a kid that needs sweet drinks. Not bad, didn’t enjoy it too much, felt dumb, won’t do it again for a while…

But anyway, nice post-Bonfire Night dinner 🙂 Look at that picture, dem onions, yo.

Leave a Reply

